top of page

Rajasthani Players Who Have Been Conferred With the Arjuna Award

Rajasthan, the land of valor and rich traditions, has been home to several exceptional athletes who have made their mark in various sports on both national and international stages. One of the most prestigious honors an athlete can receive in India is the Arjuna Award. Named after Arjuna, the great archer from the Mahabharata, this award recognizes outstanding achievements in sports and contributions to the nation. Here, we celebrate the Rajasthani sports icons who have been honored with the Arjuna Award for their exemplary dedication and achievements:

Gopal Saini (Athletics):

Year of Award: 1983

Achievements: Gopal Saini, a long-distance runner from Rajasthan, made the nation proud with his exceptional talent in athletics. He was honored with the Arjuna Award in 1983 for his remarkable achievements, including representing India in various international competitions.

Rajendra Prasad (Kabaddi):

Year of Award: 1988

Achievements: Rajendra Prasad, a Kabaddi player from Rajasthan, received the Arjuna Award in 1988. He played a pivotal role in popularizing and excelling in this traditional Indian sport at the national level.

Rajkumari Rathore (Shooting):

Year of Award: 1997

Achievements: Rajkumari Rathore, an accomplished shooter from Rajasthan, earned the Arjuna Award in 1997. She has made significant contributions to the sport of shooting and represented India at various international competitions.

Vinod Kumar (Wrestling):

Year of Award: 2002

Achievements: Vinod Kumar, a proficient wrestler from Rajasthan, received the Arjuna Award in 2002. He has made substantial contributions to Indian wrestling and has been a role model for aspiring athletes.

Laxman Singh (Shooting):

Year of Award: 2003

Achievements: Laxman Singh, a talented shooter from Rajasthan, was honored with the Arjuna Award in 2003. His dedication to the sport and exceptional marksmanship skills have been acknowledged with this prestigious award.

Rajyavardhan Rathore (Shooting):

Year of Award: 2004

Achievements: Rajyavardhan Rathore, hailing from Jaisalmer, Rajasthan, is one of India's most celebrated shooters. He made history by winning a silver medal in the double trap shooting event at the 2004 Athens Olympics, becoming the first Indian to win an individual silver medal at the Olympics. For his remarkable achievements in shooting, he was honored with the Arjuna Award in 2004. Later in his career, he also received the prestigious Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan awards for his contributions to sports.

Anita Rani (Kabaddi):

Year of Award: 2007

Achievements: Anita Rani, a Kabaddi player from Rajasthan, received the Arjuna Award in 2007. Her contributions to the sport and her exemplary performances on the national stage have been recognized through this honor.

Krishna Poonia (Discus Throw):

Year of Award: 2010

Achievements: Krishna Poonia, hailing from Agroha village in Rajasthan, is a renowned discus thrower. She won a gold medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games, making her the first Indian woman to achieve this feat in track and field events. Her impressive performances have earned her numerous accolades, including the Arjuna Award.

Khumukcham Sanjita Chanu (Weightlifting):

Year of Award: 2018

Achievements: Although not originally from Rajasthan, Khumukcham Sanjita Chanu has trained in Rajasthan and is associated with the state. She is a prominent Indian weightlifter who was awarded the Arjuna Award in 2018 for her outstanding achievements in the sport.

These athletes from Rajasthan have not only made their state proud but have also contributed significantly to the growth and popularity of their respective sports in India. The Arjuna Award is a testament to their hard work, dedication, and passion for sports, and it serves as an inspiration to the aspiring athletes of Rajasthan and the entire nation.

1 view0 comments

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page